Presidential pardon for four Arakan Army convicts

Khaing Khaing Zan
Narinjara News, 18 April 2016


Sittwe prison

Sittwe prison

Four persons, sentenced by the court for their alleged involvements with the banned Arakan Army, were released on 17 April from Sittwe prison of Arakan State under the Presidential amnesty.

The released persons namely Ko San Maung Tha, U Tin Shwe and U San Aye Maung from Kyauk Taw township and U Shwe Lone alias  U Shwe Sein Won from Min Bya township,  were arrested in April last year  and sentenced recently.

“I hail from Link Zin village under Kyauk Taw township and  I am not associated with the Arakan Army. I was accused of attending a meeting of the outfit. I was under pressure to confess that I am a member of Arakan Army,” said Ko San Maung Tha.

The other three individuals also claimed that they have no affiliation to the outlawed Arakan Army.

Altogether 83 prisoners were released recently after the  new President of Burma announced an amnesty to them. The initiative and gesture are being considered as an important step for the national reconciliation and  ongoing peace process in the southeast Asian country.