Commission to investigate Arakan unrest due to travel to Arakan state from September 7

Maung Rammar

Sittwe: The commission that was recently formed to investigate the Arakan sectarian violence that occurred last June in Arakan State will go to Arakan state to start its mission investigation on the Arakan violence on September 7.

U Aye Thar Aung, the President of the Arakan League for Democracy who is included as a member in the commission, said the commission will travel to some townships in northern Arakan State during its mission.

“We will start our mission to Arakan state capital on the 7th of this month. We have planned to do our investigations in the townships of Maungdaw, Rathedaung, Sittwe, Kyauktaw, Mrauk-U and Pauktaw meeting with the responsible authorities, local organizations, individuals and the leaders of different communities”, said U Aye Thar Aung.

The commission is said to have formed with eight sub-committees in order to look into the circumstances of the unrest.

U Aye Thar Aung said the specific plans for the investigations will be made when the commission has arrived in Sittwe, the capital of Sittwe where over 50000 people are still homeless.

“The commission will make specific plans for its mission and also plan for the places to meet with the survivors privately after arriving in Sittwe”, he said.

When asked his opinion, U Aye Thar Aung said, “I think it will be necessary for the individuals as well as for the organizations to prepare themselves so that they can voice specifically their concerns with evidence while being investigated by the commission.”

The commission is independent and he is expected to investigate freely whatever the commission need for their test during their tours in Arakan state, he added.

The commission was formed by the President U Thein Sein on the 17th of August with 27 members, in which Dr. Myo Myint, a retired director general of Religious Affairs, and Dr. Kyaw Yin Hlaing of the Myanmar Egress, are appointed as the chairman and the secretary of the commission While Journalist Maung Wan Tha, Comedian Zarganar, U Ko Ko Gyi of the 88-Generation Students Group, Dr. Aye Maung of the Rakhine Nationalities Development Party, U Khun Tun Oo of the Shan National League for Democracy, U Aye Thar Aung of the Arakan League for Democracy, U Aung Naing Oo of the Bahu Institute, as well as other intellectuals and clerics of Muslim and Christian faith are included as members.