Two Arakanese Political Prisoners Among 23 Released

Yangon: Two Arakanese political prisoners were included in the release of 23 political prisoners who were granted amnesty on Tuesday under a presidential decree, said the RNDP Rangoon office.

Some released political prisoners and leaders of 88 generation group in Yangon.

The RNDP said that Ko Moe Thi, alias Aung Moe Zaw, was released from Insein Prison in Rangoon while Ko Aung Naing was released from Pa Hann in Karen State.

The two prisoners were sentenced to six years in prison in 2010 under Section 7 and 13/1, for alleged connections to unlawful organizations located outside of the country, and forming an organization without permission from the government authority.

They were arrested along with nine others in 2010 on suspicion of having connections with an exile Arakanese student group. Most of them are currently released, except for Ray Htet Soe and Mae Lon, alias Naing Soe, who remain in Insein and Pakkoku Prisons.

According to a government report 80 prisoners – including 37 male and 9 female Burmese nationals, and 34 foreigners who are mostly Bangladeshi – were granted amnesty on Tuesday.

The report stated that, in accordance with Section 204 (a) of the state constitution, amnesty was granted with a view “to ensuring the stability of the state and making eternal peace, national reconciliation, and enabling all to participate in the political process.”