Daw Aung San Suu Kyi steps in to resolve stalemate between NLD and ANP

Narinjara News

Yangon, 25 March 2016


Burmese democracy icon Daw Aung San Suu Kyi stepped in to resolve the latest impasse between her party National League for Democracy (NLD) and Arakan National Party (ANP). The newly elected NLD Parliamentarian had already discussed with 22 Arakanese legislators at NayPyiDaw on Thursday and exchanged views on the process to form the government in Arakan.

The Rakhine political party has been opposing the NLD initiative to form the Arakan State government at Sittwe and also appoint a chief minister from the national party. The ANP was demanding to allow them to lead the Arakan government for some time.

The ANP won  23 seats in Arakan State parliament whereas the NLD succeeded  only in 9 constituencies in the  national elections held in November last year. The Arakan based party had expressed their willingness to form the government several time, but the NLD was allegedly not supporting the move.

Recently around 1000 Sittwe residents staged a demonstration to extend support to the ANP for their move. The  23 March rally was significant enough as the NLD chief expressed her interest to meet ANP legislators next day to break the deadlock. Accordingly 22 Arakan legislators representing the House of Nationalities (Amyothar Hluttaw Myanmar ) and lower house of Parliament (Pyithu Hluttaw) attended the meeting.

“The meeting was useful. Honourable Suu Kyi informed us that she wanted to meet ANP leaders earlier,  but because of busy schedules in the national capital, she could not do so. She promised to arrange another such meeting next week,” said U Pe Than, an important legislator belongs to the ANP.

The NLD central executive member U Win Htin  informed that both the parties had resolved to break the impasse for the interest of Arakan people. They had cordial talks over the development of the western State of Burma.

Besides Ms Suu Kyi,  U Mahn Win Khaing Than (Speaker of Amyothar Hluttaw Myanmar) and U Win Ming (Speaker of Pyithu Hluttaw)  attended the meeting, whereas ANP leaders including U Aye Tha Aung (deputy Speaker of Amyothar Hluttaw Myanmar),  U Hla Soe (legislator of lower house of Parliament) and U Ba Shin (legislator of lower house of Parliament) were present in the meeting.