Court sentences Arakanese Buddhists for attack on Muslim village

Sittwe Prison

Sittwe Prison

( Sittwe, 10 December 2013): Three Arakanese Buddhists were sentenced to prison by the Sittwe district court on Monday for their involvement in the attack on a Muslim village of Arakan State in western Burma last year.  Of course, five other associates were released by the court, said Daw Aye Nu Sein, a lawyer of the defenders.

“Two Arakanese were sentenced to 10 years in prison and another Arakanese was sent to prison for two year by the Sittwe district court for their crimes during  October 2012 sectarian violence in Mrauk U township. But 5 other Arakanese Buddhist were spared from any punishment,” the lawyer informed.

U Maung Thein and U Maung Kyaw Hling from Than Chei Bying village under Mrauk U township were found guilty for the attack on the Muslim village and sentenced to 10 years of imprisonment under section no 302 by the court in its verdict pronounced at 3 pm yesterday. On the other hand, U Saw Pru from Aung Mingalar ward of Mrauk U township was sent to prison for two years under section no 147 for the related offense.

Five other Arakanese Buddhists namely Zaw Moe Tun, Nyi Pu or Zaw Myint Naing, U Tin Hla, U Aung Kyaw Sein and U Pyi Thein Aung were freed by the district court, added the lawyer.

Replying to Narinjara queries, the defending lawyer Daw Aye Nu Sein revealed that she might go for the higher court with an appeal to review the verdict. But it would depend on the accused individuals if they want that. Otherwise, she has no personal comment on the verdict of the district court, she asserted.

Mentionable is that altogether 8 Arakanese Buddhists were picked up by the local authority soon after the violence that broke out at Yin Thay Muslim village under Mrauk U township, which was targeted by a group of Arakanese Buddhist residents that resulted in the killing of several people and destroying of huge properties belonged to the Muslim families.