Arakan PM to contest polls from Ann township constituency

Rakhine Minister

Sittwe, 31 July: Prime Minister of Arakan (Rakhine) State U Maung Maung Own will contest in the next election and he is expected to offer his candidature from No 1 Ann township constituency.

Dr San Shwe, Rakhine State’ general secretary of Union Solidarity Development Party  (USDP) informs that U Maung Maung Oo  will beg voter’s mandate to serve the State as a  lawmaker in the Arakan Parliament.

“Yes, the Rakhine State PM (U Maung Maung Own) will contest in the polls. The Arakan State unit of USDP is ready to follow the instruction comes from the central committee of the government backed political party,” said Dr Shwe.

It may be mentioned that Ann township area, which is located at centre of Arakan State,  is also a stronghold of USDP. In 2010 election, all seats under the Ann township were own by USDP candidates.

U Maung Maung Own, a general of Burma army, became the Prime Minister of Arakan   after the influential Arakanese politician  U Hla Maung Tin resigned from the PM’s post in July 2014 citing the reason of poor health.

The USDP is understood to contest in 64 Parliamentary seats of Arakan State in the coming election. Among those 64 candidates, there would be 10 candidates from the Burmese Army for the polls scheduled for 8 November 2015.