Arakan government to be led by NLD lawmaker

Narinjara News

Yangon, 31 March 2016


The  Arakan State Parliament finally approved U Nyi Pu,  the lawmaker belongs to National League for Democracy [NLD] to lead the State government at Sittwe. The decision taken on Wednesday was however not unanimous, said the Arakan National Party lawmaker U Aung Won.

Both the parties were arguing to form the government where the ANP was a front runner with 23 lawmakers in Arakan State Parliament.

However, the newly elected President of Burma [Myanmar]  U Htin Kyaw, who belongs to the NLD, proposed U Nyi Pu’s name as the chief minister of Arakan.

U Kyaw Lwin, an ANP legislator from Kyauk Pru township opposed the proposal in favour the NLD lawmaker U Nyi Pu, who represents Gwa township in the Parliament. The ANP legislator claimed that the Burma President’s proposal was illegal as it was against the spirit of the constitution, added U Aung Won.

He pointed out that U Htin Kyaw sent the proposal in favour of U Nyi Pu before took the oath as the President of Burma.

The speaker of Arakan State Parliament of course rejected the opposition. Then the Parliament approved U Nyi Pu as the chief minister of Arakan.