ANP gets top posts in Arakan State Parliament

Sittwe (Narinjara)

9 February 2016

Photo by Rakhine state journal

Photo by Rakhine state journal

Arakan National Party (ANP), the influential party of Rakhine has succeeded in occupying two important legislative posts in Arakan State Parliament, said a source in the State Parliament.

U San Kyaw Hla, a central executive committee member of ANP who won the 8 November 2015 national election of Burma (Myanmar) from Ponna kyunt township constituency, has been elected as the chairman of Arakan State Parliament.

On the other hand, another lawmaker named U Pho Min, who is also a central committee member of ANP and elected from  Rathidaung township constituency was selected as the vice-chairman of Arakan State Parliament.

“I was elected without any opposition from our rival lawmakers. The NLD (National League for Democracy) members also did not oppose the move when U Maumg Maung proposed my name for the post,” said U San Hla Kyaw.

The present Arakan State Parliament has 22 lawmakers from ANP, nine from NLD, three from USDP (Union Solidarity Development Party), one from Chin community with 12 from the military.

Meanwhile, the lawmakers belonged to the NLD welcome the ANP for having the top posts in Arakan State Parliament.

“We did not oppose the move, as the ANP and we are working for establishing a true federal democracy in Burma. We are happy and welcome to initiative,” said NLD leader U Min Aung, who won the last general election from Taungup township constituency.