ALD opens township office in a western border town of Arakan

Maungdaw: The 1990 election winning party in Arakan state, the Arakan League for Democracy, has opened a township level office in the western border town, Maungdaw, on Wednesday.
ALD Allowed to Re-Establish as Political PartyThe ALD opened the office at 9 AM with an opening ceremony where a public meeting was held to explain party policy and the future plans of party. Many central party leaders delivered speeches in the ceremony with over 100 townspeople attending.
The party won majority seats in Arakan state in the 1990 election but the military government demolished the party without any cause. However, the party bravely carried out its works to achieve democracy in Burma cooperation with NLD led Nobel laureate Daw Aung San Suu Kyi.
After the 2010 election in Burma, the party got the chance to register with the election commission to carry out party activities again.
 “Our party is now recognized by the election commission as a political party. We have approval to open offices in all townships in Arakan state and to organize people supporting our party. It is a part of our party policy,” said a party central committee member U Kyaw Tun Aung who attended the opening ceremony in the town.
The ALD has already opened 11 townships level offices around Arakan state where 17 townships exist.
“As first step, we will open offices all townships in Arakan state. We will carry out our next step by opening several offices  in other places in Burma like Yangon, Mandalay, some townships in Irrawaddy division,  Farkant in Kachin and Paletwa in Chin state where many Arakanese are living,” he said.
The ALD has planned to contest in the 2015 election. It is also in preliminary preparation for that election by opening offices, U Kyaw Tun Aung said.

The ALD had not had a chance to contest in the 2010 election because at that time the party was not recognized by the election commission as a political party. In the 2010 election, in Arakan state, the majority seats were  won by an Arakanese party, Rakhine National development party (RNDP).