RNDP not allowed to use U Oattama’s Hall for its conference

Sittwe: The spokesperson of the Rakhine Nationalities Development Party (RNDP) says his party is not allowed to use U Oattama’s Memorial Hall in Arakan State’s Capital Sittwe as venue for its first conference.

U Khine Pray Soe, the party’s spokesperson, said their party’s conference is scheduled to be held on May 29, but the local municipal department has not allowed the party to use the U Oattama’s Memorial Hall as venue.

“We have asked permission from the municipal department to use the U Oattama Hall as venue for our party’s conference, but we cannot say why they will not allow us the hall. They have permitted the use of the Pinnya Linkara Buddhist Monastery as the venue for our conference”, said U Khine Pray Soe.

He said his party’s leaders planned to use the hall as the venue for the conference because it is a public hall in the town commonly used by other political parties, governmental and social organizations for holding their conferences and meetings.

The RNDP’s leaders are said to have met the regional chief minister and asked for permission to use the U Oattama Hall as well, but the chief minister told them that he was not responsible for the hall and that they must ask for permission from the municipal department as the hall is under control of the department.

U Khine Pray Soe said the township’s municipal department told them that the hall could not be used for the conference as it is now under planned to be reconstructed into a large building.

He said that his party has to shift the venue for the conference to the Pinnya Linkara Buddhist Monastery and will hold the conference as per schedules starting from May 29.

He said his party will discuss and review its constitutions, procedures and the reports by its central committee members of the previous tenure in order to lay down new policies for the coming tenure in its conference.

Moreover, the new central committee members for the posts of one president, two vice-presidents, one general secretary, two assistant secretaries, two treasurers and other departmental posts are said to be elected in the conference as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *