11 Arakanese towns to get electricity from national grid

(Narinjara News, 15 October 2014):


Eleven major towns of Arakan state will receive the electricity from Burma national power grid by the end of this year, declared the province government of Arakan (Rakhine).

The Union electric power ministry is presently connecting the national grid to power-line cables of 11 towns of the State, which has 17 major townships.

The ministry is constructing four 230 KV and  fourteen  66 KV sub-stations in Arakan for supplying electricity from the national grid and that would be in a cheaper rate.

The proposed sub-stations in  Mrauk U, Kyauk Taw, Ponna Kyaunyt, Minbya,  Maei, Rambree and Sittwe have been completed partially and the project engineers claimed that their jobs would be done before December 2014.

The government is presently supplying the electricity for the residents of Thandwe,  Taungup, Ann, Kyauk Pru with the rate of 35 Kyat per unit.

Earlier all 17 major towns of Arakan used to receive the electric power through a private company at the rate of 500 Kyat per unit, which is 14 time higher than the proposed rate by the government.

Arakanese people continued criticizing the Union government for the rate of electricity and hence the government in Naypyi Taw has come out with the plan to supply the electricity from the national grid to the people of Arakan.

The Arakan state government in Sittwe has already decided to celebrate the development which would be beneficial for the Arakanese people as a whole.